Norwich Baroque

Programmes Press and Postludes

29th Oct. 2011 - Elizabeth Watts and Michael Chance

Saturday 29th Oct 2011-Norwich Cathedral
Soloists : Elizabeth Watts and Michael Chance
Director : Peter Hanson


Locatelli Concerto Grosso Op.1 no 5
Vivaldi - Nisi Dominus
A. Scarlatti arias :
- Figlio, tiranno! (from Griselda)
- Io Non Son (from La Statira)
- D`amore l'accese face (Venere, amore e ragione)
- Qui, dove al germogliar (from Erminia)
Vivaldi - Sinfonia "Al Santo Sepolcro"
Vivaldi - Concerto for strings RV114
Pergolesi - Stabat Mater
(Encore - Scherzano sul tuo Volto" - from Rinaldo - Handel)

Eastern daily press review:

A large audience that became more and more enthusiastic thoroughly enjoyed this concert. It featured two singers with local connections and international reputations. Full of delights, the programme ended in a triumphant climax with the Stabat Mater by Pergolesi.

With its succession of short sections that are alternately tragic and lyric, his setting of the medieval hymn on Mary's sorrows at the foot of the Cross gave Elizabeth Watts and Michael Chance great opportunities. The pair of gifted performers took them with skill.

Though thrilling individually their soprano and countertenor voices sounded even better in duets. Though each was distinctive in tone, they blended well. They were unanimous in elaborate, ever changing music that came over as an expression of a wide range of emotions.

Earlier, Chance's fine performance of a piece of Italian church music, Vivaldi's solo version of Psalm 126, contrasted with Elizabeth Watts' interpretation of Baroque arias. Her fearless account of a show-piece by Alessandro Scarlatti was a dazzling display of vocal prowess.

Led by Peter Hanson, Norwich Baroque, complete with theorbo, provided careful and sympathetic accompaniment. Among the purely instrumental works they played, one of Vivaldi's so-called Paris sonatas was especially pleasing.

Christopher Smith.